Poets logo

to drink the ocean

i don't "do" love poems. but... here goes.

By L.C. SchäferPublished 2 years ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
12
to drink the ocean
Photo by Joseph Barrientos on Unsplash

the first time that i saw you

was a sweet punch to the gut.

when you put your eyes on me

you put me under a spell.

we wove a thread between us

with each word we spoke.

peeled back another layer

oh, so many layers, love

an ocean of you

to swim in, to drink

curiously, greedily.

is that what hit me?

in that first moment?

a tsunami of Self? yours.

a bright wave that swept me away,

dazzled me.

flooded cloudy days with bright sunshine.

did i, in that moment

tell the future

did i know, by some instinct

that i was looking at another part of myself

like looking at the back of my own head?

was that why the sight of you was so devastating to me?

i could feel you in the room

like another limb.

i might have wondered

why other people were unaffected by the force of you

but you dazzled me like the sun

and i could see nothing else.

today, i think of that moment

and i think

would i still

drink the ocean

just to feel the warmth of the sunshine

and your arms around me?

+++++++

Thank you for reading! If you enjoyed this, please take a gander at this one as well:

love poems
12

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Lilly Cooper8 months ago

    I'm not big on love poems either, but it is good to try something different. You did well :)

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    Gorgeous. Love it.

  • This is lovely, some beautiful thoughts

  • You capture this moment perfectly, it resonates a lot ❤️✨👌🙏🥰

  • Poppy 8 months ago

    This is an awesome poem and I vote you should do more love poems!

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    Intriguing free verse for this Lovely Unlove poem. Glad you had a go as there is a lot of push/pull of ideas and fine imagery. I particularly liked your phrasing “a tsunami of self!” 🥸 Nice work L.C! 😊

  • I'm guessing that you would, otherwise how could you now have written something so stirring about it?

  • Sian N. Clutton8 months ago

    I really like this! It sounded like something from the show 'You' on Netflix!

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    This is stunning. For someone that doesn't do a love poems, you sure know your way around a genuinely sweet one. Well done!

  • Rene Petersabout a year ago

    I love this! It's such a sweet poem

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.