Poets logo

To become a butterfly

First you need to grow you wings

By Britt Blomster Published 3 years ago 1 min read
10
To become a butterfly
Photo by Karina Vorozheeva on Unsplash

You are a wildfire, destroying everything in your path

Filled with regrets and lashing out in wrath

Your tongue is a whetstone and your words a sword

Selfish to your core, you pretended I was adored

Fool I was, I allowed myself to believe in honeyed lies

My reward was hours wasted in wretched cries

Lying and cheating was part of your venomous game

Yet, you still asked me to take your last name

I was the flower you tried to wilt, yet I still bloom

Chains and locks of agony yet I still escaped your tomb

You never wanted me to know how bright I could shine

Expecting me to never leave your path of serpentine

Diamond ring on my finger masquerading as cuffs

Valiant I became, diluting you with sharp rebuffs

You couldn’t crumble the foundation of my house

One accomplishment of mine is I’m not your spouse

I didn’t let you break me but oh boy did you try

Leaving my cocoon of self protection I’m a butterfly

You thought I would never be brave enough to emerge

Sick with cruelty and violence, I survived your purge

Happy, strong, and loved I now have a heart that sings

Living without fear and misery, I have grown my wings

sad poetry
10

About the Creator

Britt Blomster

I'm a writer, poet, storyteller and dreamer. I'm inspired by the world around me and channel that into my writing.

Blog:

Facebook

Instagram

Medium

E-mail: [email protected]

My Twitter

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.