Poets logo

To be honest

Reflections of Honesty

By MorganPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
Like
To be honest
Photo by Denys Nevozhai on Unsplash

Sometimes I think honesty is overrated,

Sometimes I wish we had never ever dated,

The truth can be hard to admit,

But honestly, I'm almost relieved we didn't make it.

If I'm being honest, I've already met someone else,

With him, I never have to walk on eggshells,

Sometimes I think honesty is overrated,

Now I know, things don't have to be overly complicated.

He doesn't make me cry but honestly he doesn't make me laugh,

But you know what? I don't really need my other half,

To be honest, I wish you had tried harder,

We would've gone so much further.

The truth is, with you, I always faked it,

But I don’t regret anything, not one bit,

Even if all this time seems like just wasted,

I know life's lessons are never hasted.

And yes, sometimes, I miss us.

God, how I miss your hugs,

But I no longer wonder if you're thinking of someone else,

Because waiting for your love feels like seven hells.

I know breaking up wasn't part of the plan,

But he doesn't have that complex of Peter Pan.

I can't keep waiting for you to grow up,

I know... it's all so messed up.

I don't know when things got so tough,

Were all your words just fluff?

You know what? It doesn't really matter.

After all this time, I've finally grown smarter.

If I told you the truth, you'd know I hated you for leaving,

And no, this isn't me just grieving,

I'd tell you how you never really knew me, never had a clue.

But I think honesty is overrated, don't you?

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Morgan

Hi, I'm Morgan, a writer by heart with a passion for crafting innovative stories. Follow me for updates on my latest projects and achievements!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.