Poets logo

Tired Ramblings of a Mind That Won't Shut Off

By Brianna Galligan

By Brianna Lynn GalliganPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1

Daydreams rip and shred the seams of my sighs

That drift within the turpentine of time.

My mind washes itself into thinking things

Just to shut out the reality

That causes emotions to run rampant,

Creating chaos in my serenity.

I sit and listen

To the stillness that surrounds me

Only to become encompassed by the thoughts

That blast in my conscious state

In a cacophonous symphony of cerebral noise.

My mind is glass against the granite walls,

As I sort through the papers of the file cabinet

Spilling onto the floor of my mind.

I reach to clasp each one individually,

Causing my mind to focus

On feelings and thoughts

I had hoped were securely locked away.

Never to be exposed again.

Rapture and torture erupt in streams

Of volcanic ash and magma,

Scorching my heart strings that fray

Each time someone new leaves for good.

I try to stand tall

But slip in and out of crevices

That attempt to drag me to my personal hell,

I escaped from so long ago.

I cannot go back and scramble

To evade each and every step

Threatening to slaughter my secret peace.

The good, the bad, the indifferent blend.

And sorting becomes erratic and disorganized

In an attempt to cram everything back in its files

Just so I don’t have to face

The inevitable cruelties of my mind.

I must forget.

I need to forget.

Yet remembering tells us who we are,

Where we are from,

Where we are going.

Decisions made determine everything

And nothing.

The sole purpose of life is a mystery

To even the greatest philosopher.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.