Poets logo

Time Traveler

by Richard Naviasky

By Richard NaviaskyPublished about a year ago 2 min read

Time Traveler

-

In the mist when we first kissed with dew drops in our hair

and the moon watching hungrily like a polar bear,

our love rose just like the sun through early morning air.

That day is gone but nonetheless I often go back there.

-

I am a time traveler in my memory

visiting lost places temporarily,

but like an oasis, or an island on the sea,

if I stay and don’t return, the world is lost to me.

-

Nights were warm out on the farm when we’d sit on the swing

with our feet rocking gently as we talked of everything.

The sounds of night would harmonize and you would start to sing.

When it gets too cold I go back there, and winter turns to spring.

-

I am a time traveler in my memory

visiting lost places temporarily,

but like an oasis, or an island on the sea,

if I stay and don’t return, the world is lost to me.

-

The day we went to get married in a court of law

there was just a clerk to see us, and we didn’t care at all.

You said, “My big indian, I’ll always be your squaw.”

A thousand times I’ve been back to that day without a flaw.

-

I am a time traveler in my memory

visiting lost places temporarily,

but like an oasis, or an island on the sea,

if I stay and don’t return, the world is lost to me.

-

On that day in rainy May our battery was dead

so I scooped you up and run you to the neighbor’s house instead.

I cried so hard the moment that I saw our baby’s head.

I still choke up when I go back to you lying on that bed.

-

I am a time traveler in my memory

visiting lost places temporarily,

but like an oasis, or an island on the sea,

if I stay and don’t return, the world is lost to me.

-

Now I’m old, my bones are cold, my children all are grown,

and even you have peacefully left me on my own.

But you warm me, and peacefully I’ll never be alone.

E-very memory is solid as a stone.

love poems

About the Creator

Richard Naviasky

This lover of words is a retired NYC firefighter (2/4/2001-2/4/2021) living now in Colorado where I write, draw silly pictures, play guitar, and keep writing...

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Richard NaviaskyWritten by Richard Naviasky

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.