Poets logo

Time

A poem: 6/9/2020

By Doors to LifePublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Time
Photo by Veri Ivanova on Unsplash

Time

All I'm thinking about right now is you

I think about how bright you are

I think about how much you care and love me

Then I think about how we should spend some time apart

How we need to think about each other apart

I think about how much I'm going to miss you

I think about how much it'll pain me to tell you this

I think about whether or not I'm making the right move

But right now it hurts when I'm with you

I need to figure out why

I want to be with you, but I want to be happy with you

So can you wait for me until I'm ready

Can you wait for my clock to finish counting time

June 9, 2020

You can't really stop time. Especially when you want it to. It just one of those things that infinitely keeps going on and on. Today I told the love of my life that I needed a break from our relationship for a few weeks. I honestly don't know if that's something I needed or a mistake. It's weird to say this, but I miss him already.

When we get night time thoughts in our heads, it can become this never ending cycle that keeps you up at night. He was keeping me up at night. I needed to focus on myself. I needed time to love myself and find myself again. A person can't love another, if they don't love themselves. I want to be strong enough again to love him. I put in all my trust in him, and I know that he'll wait for me. Until then, I need to keep my head high and fix what's been broken inside of me.

You can't keep letting the past haunt you. You can't keep breaking the present. And you can't stop the future from happening.

What you can do is follow your heart and make no regrets.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Doors to Life

Welcome! Everyone has gone through multiple doors in their lifetime, so let's continue to discover more hidden door's about life. What will the next door lead you to? Let me tell you what I discover in life one door at a time!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.