Poets logo

Time And It's Agenda

Nothing Good Happens After Midnight

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
11
Time And It's Agenda
Photo by Karsten Füllhaas on Unsplash

I'm awakened once more, the time, 2 a.m.

in my head, there's a scream

but I don't give a damn

running away - only thinking of me

I cannot hide who I am

the terror tugs at my sleeve

reminding me -again- it's 2 a.m.

and time's a vain, hungry thief.

*

the clock has run out

I have sold my soul

there is no doubt

I've lost all control

I've no will to shout

there are 2 bullet holes

left scattered about

powder marks on the floor

*

the fragments lay crumbled

shattered and torn

discharged and muffled

my fears now airborne

a patchwork of regrets

displayed on the wall

re-paying a debt

taking the fall

*

everything's quiet

this must be a sign

laying in a field

full of sweet dandelions

in my ear there's a humming

a tune I recognize

a drummer is drumming

a tear escapes from my eyes

*

the silence takes over

the writing's on the wall

no place to take cover

an opened Babushka doll

laid out on the floor

no secret unseen

the internal war

ended sharply, 2:15

*

sad poetrysurreal poetryperformance poetryMental Health
11

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 4 months ago

    I love this!! "time's a vain, hungry thief" That is an awesome line!! It should be turned into a commonly used phrase! I also love the phrase "a patchwork of regrets"!! You included the prompt so well. I also really liked the ending!!

  • Wonderful!! Great work fitting all five prompts into this excellent poem. "the terror tugs at my sleeve reminding me -again- it's 2 a.m. and time's a vain, hungry thief"... so good!

  • For me those battles often don't end until 4 or even 6 a.m. (Sometime after I've emptied my bladder one last time.) Ah, the aggravation!

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    no secret unseen.....great line!!!

  • Dana Crandell4 months ago

    Gotta' love those early wake-up calls. Not.

  • Raven Black4 months ago

    I loved reading this.

  • Joe Patterson4 months ago

    Perfectly worded.

  • Mariann Carroll4 months ago

    I got woken up before with screaming at or around 2 am literally. This poem took me back to that time. It was a neighborhood screaming, I had to call the police.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.