Poets logo

Tickle monster.

I love you.

By Amber Marie CardonaPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Tickle monster.
Photo by Michael Fenton on Unsplash

I have never laughed so much.


You touch me like you know


just how much pressure to apply.


The sweetest torture,


while you’re pushing


each and every single one of my buttons.


And right when I’m on the verge of exploding,


and the arms that you’re using to hold me


and the hands that you’re using to hold me down,


trying to tickle me into submission


til I’m laughing so hard,


I’m barely breathing,


and you’re driving me insane,


I start to realize that


that those are the very same arms


and the very same hands


that so easily help calm me down


when I feel like
I’m out of control,


when I’m spiraling.


Bringing me
back down to earth,


to reality.


Your love is like magic.


I could not have ever imagined


a man who was so done with love


when he met me,


who met me


when I was in no mood for love,


would become


the same man


with the very same arms,


the same hands


that know just how to hold me,


to touch me.


A man who knows


just how to comfort me.


(Right after driving me crazy.)


Incredibly handsome.


Hilarious,


smart,


understanding.


You keep me from feeling abandoned.


(An issue I’ve carried since childhood.)


Helping me let it all go

while I’m healing.


You’re helping me grow.


And you challenge me.


Two different people agreeing


to disagree


(from two very opposite extremes.)


And during heated debates
and confusion,


(with some miscommunication thrown in.)


We’re continuing to learn


just how to love each other


a little more each day.


You may not always know what to say


or why I’m crying,


but you hold me anyway.


Might be too much for you,


might be too less for me.


But I think we get closer to meeting


somewhere in the middle


everyday.


And the journey,


no matter how hard it might seem


is so worth it to me


because I get to take it


to that destination


with a man


who makes me laugh


til I can’t breathe.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.