Poets logo

The Artist's "I"

An Ekphrastic Sonnet

By D. J. ReddallPublished 14 days ago Updated 14 days ago 1 min read
9
Norman Rockwell, "Art Critic," 1955

I ought to run him through, this callow twit!

Ogling Juna as he would a ham

Or a plague victim specked with sores and shit

Who does he think he is, or who I am?

Those who create ought to have more respect

For those they conjure out of light and shade

Scrutinizing each trivial aspect

Ignores the whole: all makers were made

The line between subject and mere object

Is far more permeable than it seems

Imagine the plight of images, abject;

The painted eye with secret visions teems

Proud reader, you are someone’s character!

Perspective rules, as you must remember

Ekphrastic
9

About the Creator

D. J. Reddall

I write because my time is limited and my imagination is not.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilake13 days ago

    A deep one from you!

  • Rachel Deeming13 days ago

    I love that picture! I like the idea you present here. Whose character am I?

  • Kodah13 days ago

    Love it!! 💌

  • Oooo, this certainly was very profound! Loved your poem!

  • True one. Thank you !

  • Andrea Corwin 14 days ago

    Quite clever And True!! 🤣

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.