Poets logo

Thwarting Despair

Ever On

By Cindy CalderPublished 8 months ago 2 min read
3

The world lingers maddeningly at my fingertips

I shiver, trying fervently to shake free though it insists

Exhaling, a deep sigh escapes through thinly parted lips

Frustration crescendos as the beast stubbornly persists.

*

“I want no more,” through clenched teeth, I whisper to the air

Waiting and hoping the masses will hear my desperate cry

But the night air is frigid, recoiling and instilling dark despair

My mind capitulates: I want answers lest I stumble and die.

*

I stand with indecision in the vortex of my life

Ever faltering, unsure where my next step will land

My breath is heavy, cold amidst the intense strife

Until, abruptly, I feel an invisible touch of a hand.

*

“Stay,” the coarse echo reverberates deep in my soul

“I need you to breathe,” another echo in the still of night.

“You have a right to fight this abiding absurdity for control.

Destiny awaits, disguised in the angst of your plight.”

*

Ambivalence mounts into an unfathomable sense of regret

Filling the heart with a struggle of a force reckoned as me

Stumbling backwards, my body grows limp until I’ve met

The cold ledge beneath me, as trembling, I collapse on my knees.

*

A sob issues forth from the depth of my heart

“Have you no courage to finish the task?”

I scream in the night as my mind silently imparts

A new fraction of hope and design amid the attack.

*

Looking for answers, I search the night’s atmosphere

Hoping there’s a reason looming in distant stars

My existence needs reassurance and to be steered

In a direction that doesn’t see only the depth of my scars.

*

Distracted, I’m mesmerized by an orb falling fast

Streaking the sky in a brilliant blaze of light’s glow

I watch with new vision hitherto unsurpassed

As a new desire for life resonates, yearning to grow.

*

Tears streak my cheeks, an emotional storm of release

My heart aches with newfound courage and remorse

How could I wither in my strength, desire that it all cease

This life is a beauteous design, though an obstacle course.

*

My path’s like a brilliant, bright star, limitless as it empowers

The luminosity shining beside the ever fixed moon and the sun

Constantly spinning in perpetual motion, it is life and it’s ours

Full of future, a web of design, just waiting to be spun.

*

With a sigh of knowledge most profound, I wipe at my tears

Breathing deeply, allowing the crisp air to clear my mind

New assurance I’ll persevere despite the depth of my fears

Fill my being, casting aside and thwarting despair just in time.

*

With decided purpose and will in my breast

I rise, taking the first step in my journey of length

Regrouping my tasks, I'm composed as if I’ve had a long rest

Enduring this moment with unrecognized strength.

*

Tomorrow’s ease of living is not promised or given

We must follow the path as it winds amidst the fields

Of this ever evolving life in all spins as we’re driven

Making sure an allowance of will as we yield.

CONTENT WARNINGinspirational
3

About the Creator

Cindy Calder

From Charleston SC - "I am still learning." Michelangelo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.