Poets logo

My Martini and I

True Love

By Cindy CalderPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
1

Oh my dear martini

What a friend you are

Comforting me in stressful times

As you beckon from the bar.

*

Give it to me dirty

That’s how I like it best

Gently shaken and not stirred

With just a little lemon zest.

*

Had I known much sooner

That you were so innately divine

I would have made my full-time job

To seek you out when I desired to unwind.

*

I pay you full-fledged homage

With green olives floating in your gin

You’re a lush dream of my reality

Each afternoon at five when we begin.

*

We feel each other’s joy –

Or is that pain, I can’t decide –

Guess I’ll just let my enhanced mood

Determine a winner come eventide.

*

So shake and pour your nectar

Fill my glass resplendent with delight

And I’ll be a happy camper

Throughout the long, dark lonely night.

*

Oh my dear martini

Others like you are too few

You’re always with me, rain or shine

So I tip my glass to you.

humor
1

About the Creator

Cindy Calder

From Charleston SC - "I am still learning." Michelangelo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.