Poets logo

Thunderbolt

You have failed me

By Anna TorresPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 2 min read
2
Thunderbolt
Photo by Victor Chartin on Unsplash

I am the architect and I hold my destiny within my hands. I am the grand design and am sculpted with no regard for plans. My rigid assumptions have halted me in my path. My nuclear contempt for you has the same outcome as my high demands. I've absorbed enough of your hostile energy. Every time I'm reminded of you, you return to catapult everything. What's it's like to be untethered to you? Any way it could have happened and I knew I'd take it to the extreme. Scorched earth did not separate the dying embers from my heart. We were both cleansed through the inferno and now I lay waste to all that you left behind. I am not the one you abandoned; I am the one who walked in the opposite direction. I could not reside where my presence was no longer necessary. If you had it your way, I would never have found my courage. Don't mistake my silence for surrender. Don't underestimate my willingness to take the long road. I will get there even faster now that you're not here weighing me down. Cut the cord that keeps us afloat. Sever the tie that prevents us from resuscitating. Reanimating isn't just for the walking dead anymore. I can stitch myself back together with all of my former body parts. They will realign and fuse back into one. A weakened pulse can find its strength again. A hollow core can finally be on the mend. Just because I didn't foresee this betrayal doesn't mean I didn't account for it. You don't get to resurface from this drowning and expect me to wait for you beneath the waves. I can hold my breath far longer than you can. This pressure will not keep me contained. The carbon dioxide will not keep me confined. The grave you dug for our future is the only thing that will be buried. I will use the dirt from our coffin to orchestrate a new beginning. Rebuilding from scratch is not as awful as you claimed it would be. You have truly failed to make a martyr out of me

inspirationalsurreal poetrysad poetryheartbreakFree Verse
2

About the Creator

Anna Torres

I’m a 37-year old mother. I love reading, metal music, and writing. I have begun writing again since 2021

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • “M”about a month ago

  • esther hopeabout a month ago

    "I am not the one you abandoned; Iam the one who walked in the opposite direction." I cannot tell you how many times I have read this piece. I needed to hear that. beautiful piece.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.