Poets logo

Through My Mothers Eyes

mama's boy

By Hoyt Douglas BattlesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
When you're just like her

It wasn't long ago when you were stoic, running a house full of little tribesmen, all of whom had occult issues.

It never did turn out the way you had planned it.

My life was such a book, plans without effort. I had gotten used to the idea of my fathers will, which was never my own.

His life was good for him, but not for me.

I was to be something more, more than anyone could ever imagine. Coming through obscurity, I failed the steps blindly on my own.

After many years of tyrannical bravada, you changed into a better creature calmed, still unable to say, 'I'm sorry'.

I figured you had to act the way you did!

Although time has healed all my wounds, physical and psychological. I find I am living life as I choose freely. Only thing is, it's through my mothers eyes.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Hoyt Douglas Battles

The reluctant writer emerges from the thicket of discontent wanting to scold society for the lies and deceit.

Unsure of his methods, he embraces his individual excellence and immeadiately received an offer to publish his very first novel!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.