Poets logo

Through My Broken Heart, A Perfect Love Will Start, A Father and Son, Forever Together and Never Apart.

I made a choice that seemed like a good idea at first but quickly turned into the biggest heartbreak I have ever felt.

By Nicole PostonPublished 5 months ago 2 min read
2
Through My Broken Heart, A Perfect Love Will Start, A Father and Son, Forever Together and Never Apart.
Photo by Jochen van Wylick on Unsplash

Through My Broken Heart, A Perfect Love Will Start, A Father and Son, Forever Together and Never Apart.

For My oldest and My Youngest Sons,

By Nicole Attenhofer Poston

How can something so right, feel so wrong?

A pain that cuts so deep inside, you feel like everything that keeps you alive is gone?

A feeling that feels so close to dying,

That you can’t even dry up your tears although you are trying.

I gave my boys something special and way more than I ever could;

But honest to god it’s killing me more than I ever thought it would.

I have so many questions rumbling and racing through my head,

Like will my sweet baby know I love him or will he hate me instead?

Will I get to see how precious his firsts are as he learns and as he grows;

Hear his first words, watch his first steps, hold him when he’s sick, or blow his sweet little nose?

Kiss his boo-boos when he falls and gets hurt,

Be there to clean him up after he’s done making mud pies in the dirt?

Hold his little hand when he’s crossing a busy street,

Or see how cute he is when he’s lost his two front teeth.

Be able to hold him close after a bad dream in the middle of the night,

Tell him that it will be ok, while I dry his tears and squeeze him tight.

Just be able to say I love you,

And hear back I love you too.

As bad as I crave being the one he will know as his mother,

There’s no one I trust more to love him unconditionally as much as his brother.

I feel honored that I could help him become the dad he was destined to be;

Because I know the love they will share will be an amazing sight to see.

So although I feel like I’m broken and my life’s been torn apart,

I’ve given them each other, which I pray will one day mend my broken heart.

For I loved the two of them so much more than I ever loved myself,

That I put their best interests first, and mine on the back shelf.

I can’t predict the future or what it may hold,

I can only hope and pray I get to be involved as “Grandma” so I can watch its’ beauty unfold.

Love Always, Mom

PS-

Twinkle, twinkle my sweet little stars,

I hope you two know I love you and just how amazing you guys truly are.

surreal poetrysad poetryperformance poetrylove poemsinspirationalheartbreakfact or fictionchildrens poetry
2

About the Creator

Nicole Poston

Hello! I’m from North Carolina and writing is a passion and life long dream of mine. I write many different genres and styles. Please like, comment and share. It helps give me the confidence to share. Oh and please subscribe!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    Awww, this was such a beautiful poem for your sons!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.