Poets logo

I Will Always Love You

Written for my mother-in-law after losing a son to suicide, another to fentanyl overdose, and very soon after the second son, her husband of 46 years to a car accident.

By Nicole PostonPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
4
I Will Always Love You
Photo by Aziz Acharki on Unsplash

As I wish upon a star

I sit and wonder how you are...

I can't help but wonder if you're okay or remember painful thoughts from that dreadful day.

Do you watch over me and Keep me safe and sound?

Scare off any evil that may lurk around?

Although I can not physically see you anymore,

My memories of you are so precious and all of them I completely adore....

I wish may, I wish I might,

Be with you again in my dreams tonight…

The special moments we had, I’ll cherish forever,

For in them, we will always be together

Even though now, we are worlds apart;

You are always on my mind and locked safe in my heart.

Our time together was cut way too short;

My emotions and tears are way too much to endure…

For you are my everything and my best friend;

I count my blessings for having you in my life and I can’t wait to see you again.

For I loved you then and I love you still…

Always have, and always will!

Written By: Nicole Poston

October 06, 2023

sad poetrysurreal poetrylove poemsHolidayheartbreakfact or fiction
4

About the Creator

Nicole Poston

Hello! I’m from North Carolina and writing is a passion and life long dream of mine. I write many different genres and styles. Please like, comment and share. It helps give me the confidence to share. Oh and please subscribe!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    My heart goes out to your mother in law. Sending her lots of love and hugs ❤️ Loved your poem!

  • NikkiSixxx Savage5 months ago

    Love this

  • Yoga Phratam5 months ago

    I loved you poem. The way you deliver every word is amazing. Keep it up.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.