Poets logo

Thoughts from Yesterday

The Mind of a Overthinker

By Mercedes ChavezPublished about a month ago 1 min read

My mind was heavy with many thoughts yesterday

I love the moments I get to spend with you, no matter what we end up doing

Taking a drive, spending time with your family, or just staying in bed together

I'm happily content as long as I'm with you

But one thing you said, sent my mind to a million places

How do you truly see me?

Who am I to you?

Who do you want me to be to you?

Do you still just see me as the girl I was when we first met 8 years ago?

Young, dumb, gullible, and falls in love easily.

Am I really just a friend to you?

One of the few people you trust, can rely on, and talk to about anything.

Friend turned lover?

I see the way you look at me sometimes, the way you touch me, and especially when you kiss me... when I know how you feel about the intimacy of kissing.

Do I mean more to you than you'll ever actually admit to me?

I know what it feels like when we're alone, but to hear you refer to me as just a friend or a "homie" to people really makes me feel conflicted.

It makes me question what I'm doing, why I come around, why I do everything that I do, why I feel the way I do, when it might just be one sided.

I know you tell me not to overthink things, I promise I really try not to.

But my heart tells me I need to brace myself, in case you decide again that you no longer want me...

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreakFriendshipFree Verse

About the Creator

Mercedes Chavez

Come with me, lets go on an adventure together, see the world through my eyes, let me paint a picture with my words, I promise you will be able to feel what I felt the first time I experienced it. Love, sadness and everything in between.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Gosh this was so freaking relatable! As if you were in my head!

Mercedes ChavezWritten by Mercedes Chavez

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.