Poets logo

Tho' the Tempest May Blow

Thoughts to my Love

By kpPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
4
Tho' the Tempest May Blow
Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

While the air we breathe is shared in this space,

The words we speak contrast.

Utterances have no meaning until uptake,

And what happens to them

In that journey toward recognition

Can’t be known.

With you, this mystery frightens me

Less. The colossal task of

Censoring one’s speech

Becomes peripheral.

Banal.

I don’t care about happy. I want TRUE.

I wrote that before I met you.

You gave me Truth, and with it came

Happy.

Safe.

Healing.

I didn’t know who I could be

In love

Until you showed me.

When we fight

It’s not the end.

I don’t want to run

Or sabotage.

I want to stay with you.

No longer competing,

But complementary. The variance in our

Thought leads to deeper understanding and

Alignment.

I don’t need to people-please

You.

A push, a challenge, a call

To grow.

This is what you, my best friend, have done for me.

So breathe this air and

Share this space,

And I promise your words will always ring

True

And find home with me.

Request FeedbackStream of ConsciousnessProselove poemsinspirationalGratitude
4

About the Creator

kp

I am a non-binary, trans-masc writer. I work to dismantle internalized structures of oppression, such as the gender binary, class, and race. My writing is personal but anecdotally points to a larger political picture of systemic injustice.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wiggins2 months ago

    This is a true outpouring of the heart. Well done indeed. And thank you for sharing!

  • Randy Baker3 months ago

    This is very good. I love this strong line break: "With you, this mystery frightens me Less. The colossal task of" Lots of good lines in this one, actually.

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    "I don’t care about happy. I want TRUE." - this is IT 👍👍👍👏👏👏😁

  • To have someone that we don't have to people-please is so blissful. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.