Poets logo

This Thing Has Slighted My Fate

A loved one’s response to breast cancer.

By Oredolapo A RobertsPublished about a year ago 1 min read
4
This Thing Has Slighted My Fate
Photo by Raquel Santana on Unsplash

This thing has slighted my fate.

There's no rhyme or reason for this ruse.

I don't understand. I can't relate.

This definitely, is some unkind mistake.

How can you see pink, then feel so blue?

This thing has slighted my fate.

With no warning or chance to debate,

I carry a load of terminal news,

I don't understand. I can't relate.

I make my doctor appointments and follow their updates...

Just to end up in these shoes?

This thing has slighted my fate.

What shall I say to translate,

without showing my hope is beyond bruised?

The impact is like a thousand freights.

My entire world has been displaced.

How do you concede to lose?

This thing has slighted my fate.

I don't understand. I can't relate.

Grief occurs normally when hearing a breast cancer diagnosis. If you'd like additional information, the CDC has some helpful information.

This poem is part of a collaboration with members from Saloon for Writers. If you're looking for a supportive and fun group, swing by. We'd love to have you.

sad poetry
4

About the Creator

Oredolapo A Roberts

During my roughest times, I maintained my innate desire to help others. Sharing my experiences as a healing narrative helps me communicate hope. Sharing a laugh is love.

Thank you for subscribing, tipping and sharing.

IG @dollymomma_writes

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a year ago

    This was very deep and emotional! A very well executed Villanelle. I loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.