Poets logo

This place is now my home

...

By Molly Aitken Sheridan Published 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
This place is now my home
Photo by Danielle Dolson on Unsplash

This place is now my home

The next stop on the tour

Of finding out who I am

I’m on this journey alone

/

This place is actually quite small

Will everything fit in?

This hand-me-down table’s too big

Not too sure ‘bout this at all...

/

This place is cold

Air vent, what the hell?!

Heating spreads only one way

Jumper wearing has increased two fold

/

This place is dated

Pay as you go electric meter?

And what are these strange marks?

Maybe I should have waited...

/

This place is actually not that bad

There's a spot for all my hoardings

And there’s even room for a desk

Maybe I won’t become a nomad

/

This place is starting to take shape

Connections with giveaways galore

Loved ones round to make it more homely

Sticking down the rug with tape

/

This place is now safe

Everything is in situ and will stay

And visitors have approved

No longer feeling like a waif

/

This place is now my own

The space to allow me to recover

And new experiences to uncover

I realise now I am not alone

As this place is now my home

*

From 'Up Until Now' - Available on Amazon

sad poetry

About the Creator

Molly Aitken Sheridan

Expressing thoughts, feelings and stories in many different forms!

Check out my other side hustles here: https://linktr.ee/mollytheolly

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Molly Aitken Sheridan Written by Molly Aitken Sheridan

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.