Poets logo

This Dance Is Done

Walk away

By Elizabeth PerksPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
This Dance Is Done
Photo by Wesley Hilario on Unsplash

I asked you not to

Yet here we are

Again and again we end up back again

And again in the same position

Why do you have such a lack of originality for these things; no sense of

Sanity to show

When doing the exact same thing and expecting a different result

Is what’s happening here.

We need to change the tune

Because honestly darling, this dance is getting old

And I am bored -

My feet hurt –

And I just want to go home;

Home feels so far away

As far as you are from me,

Even though we sway together.

Do your feet hurt too?

I’m tired.

This dance, this pretence, this –

Its all too much now. At first,

I could do it, at second

I could handle it,

Even at third I could weather it

But now there is nothing more left in me

For any of this.

I’m going to walk away.

And not because I have no energy left to run –

No. I do not run from anything, anyone –

I’m leaving because its healthier to do so.

I’m leaving before I become a ghost in my shell

A ghost in this house

That you told me I could call a home.

I think you need to work on calling it a home yourself before the next time you let someone else in.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Elizabeth Perks

A handful of words written by me in an attempt to better my work.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.