Poets logo

Things that make me uncomfortable

After S. Lindsay

By Andie EmersonPublished 3 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2024
24

The smell of foul liquor blatantly leaving one’s mouth./

Being called 'sir'/

Gray haired men with their phallus shaped spandex./

The word 'gastronomy'./

Compliments. How can one receive praise AND keep their composure?/

The fact that elevators fail to establish a 'first come, first served' policy./

Public restrooms with no stalls. You know, the ones that pretend to be an intimate quarter where peaceful relief is a top priority… until a stranger lay their hand on the lever and interrupt your flow, disturbing any sense of so-called privacy, all because investing 50 bucks in an OCCUPIED deadbolt would have been oh so ridiculous?/

Having to communicate and share feelings. Your feelings, their feelings, my feelings… feelings make me uncomfortable.

listFor Fun
24

About the Creator

Andie Emerson

Queer. Awkward. An anxious wreck, but firm believer in self-work.

Authenticity & progress over illusion & perfectionism.

Makes a living working in home improvement.

C

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilake8 days ago

    Congratulations on your top story.

  • Rowan Finley 2 months ago

    I can honestly say that none of these things make me feel uncomfortable interestingly enough, but I could make a list of other things likely.

  • olymoolla2 months ago

    Your stat is challenging your story is so beautiful you write like this you will be a great writer I wish and yes one more thing please open my vocal id and a story come later

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!!

  • Kendall Defoe 3 months ago

    All on my plate, too!

  • Andrea Corwin 3 months ago

    🤣🤣 This is so great - I’m with ya!! I’m reading this on a plane and giggling so hard I could barely get up for the seat mate to get out!

  • J. Delaney-Howe3 months ago

    Congrats on your Top Story! I am going to share it in our Facebook group Queer Vocal Voices!

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    I'm with you on these...they all give me feelings.

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Yes! Especially the elevator thing. I've walked away and taken the stairs because of pushy people. Congrats on the TS.

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    Funny! Elevators first-come first-served policy! They need to have a meeting about that and get it sorted.

  • Alex H Mittelman 3 months ago

    Those things make me uncomfortable too lol 😱

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.