Poets logo

These Distasteful Truths

Musings for Shiva and Bacchus

By Fudsique GilmorePublished 2 years ago 1 min read

I had always thought it would be quicker, you know?

Like the snapping of a taught rope or a popping balloon.

It turns out this dying business starts early and

this motherfucker is one drawn out and torturous affair.

Like right now, in this very moment,

I am grappling with the overwhelming urge,

this immutable whisper, screaming in my ear

to set alight the last vestiges of this rotten charade

and slide into that comfortable and all too familiar

Bacchanalian death spiral.

But, see?

Just saying it just sounds so pointless and insincere.

I mean, sure, I could tell you that I am wounded or terrified.

I could tell you how hollow and helpless I feel,

but the agony that coats these solemn truths

is a taste far too bitter for my mouth.

Rather, in this small rebellion against fate,

I will pour out honey mead obfuscations

over sugar cube falsehoods to intoxicate you

with the vapors of my absinthe lies.

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Fudsique Gilmore

Rambling rants about my incurable tendencies toward self-destruction, living through the torment of my own making, and the love of "that one girl".

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Fudsique GilmoreWritten by Fudsique Gilmore

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.