Poets logo

There's No Place Like My Caribbean Home

Clicks Heels 3 times

By Ali SPPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
39
There's No Place Like My Caribbean Home
Photo by jabari timothy on Unsplash

Head tilted,

towards the sky,

while tiny drops of rain dance atop my epidermis.

Eyes closed,

while the wind delicately combs through

each tiny hair follicle ,

and as quickly as mother nature

anoints me with water,

she quietly parts the curtain of clouds,

and allows the sun to dry and preserve my skin.

Home

The enriched layers of soil upon which generations have walked.

Those who have contributed to keeping my diverse heritage alive.

It is not only what you see,

but what I feel deep within

as the blood of my ancestors courses through my veins,

keeping my heart beating,

keeping me breathing.

.

The sound of the waves

as it crashes upon the shoreline,

bursting into fireworks of sea water in the air.

They create a unique, white lace pattern, that spreads forth from the blue

like a mother reaching out

to sooth the tiny grains of sand.

The residual sea salt that it leaves across your lips

is the perfect tropical delicacy,

a Caribbean treat .

Home

The calming shades of blue that decorates the sea and sky,

while the sun burns a fire in your soul.

It’s the many different people

whose smiling faces you see,

that make this place feel inviting ,

they make you never want to leave.

.

The mix of spices and fresh herbs

left to marinate my taste buds ,

with saliva pooling in my mouth

in anticipation of culinary perfection.

The freshly caught seafood, which when grilled

are exceptionally divine.

Everything is organically grown,

we are fed from the land.

Home

Filled with calypso rhythms, jazz and reggae beats .

A place where English and French are the languages that we speak .

It is the way my body moves,

hips swaying in the breeze,

always in sync with each pulse of the music.

.

Home is an everyday adventure that we all get to live,

but deep down inside,

it is truly the only place that makes my heart sing.

Thank you for reading! This poem is dedicated to my home, the beautiful island of St. Lucia. I still miss it very much.

love poems
39

About the Creator

Ali SP

Ali has found a renewed passion for reading and creating. It is now a form of expression for her– another creative outlet which she works to improve upon.

https://www.instagram.com/art.ismyrefuge/

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen2 years ago

    I would change the word epidermis to skin. It sounds sexier. Just an observation. Quick edit with a sexier word. Always think of what resonates better your readers.

  • Novel Allen2 years ago

    I absolutely love your poem. I am Jamaica you are St. Lucia. I totally get it. Was just home. Ate mangoes off the tree in the back yard. Heard reggae music every second of the day. There is no place like home. Subscribed, hearted and commented. Looking forward to more. Look me up.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.