Poets logo

There’s An Elephant In The Room

Idioms In Action

By LittleWrenWrites Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

There’s An Elephant In The Room

C2020

There's an elephant in the room.

And I'm feeling kind of restless,

as we begin to chatter, flatter, and commune.

I'd really like to address its presence.

Doesn't seem like you've noticed though.

It's quite a distraction too.

I hope it doesn't cause too much disturbance or damage.

There's no telling what an elephant in the house could do.

If we could just address the issue for a moment and all be aware,

I'd feel much more secure.

There is an elephant in the room.

I feel impending doom.

Its shadow is overwhelming with unspoken concern.

If we could just remove it first,

Yes, that's what I yearn.

How can we talk about everything else as if this elephant isn't there?

This seems a little risky as if you don't care.

Well, the conversation has been pleasant, what I could follow of it anyway.

But that elephant in the room just keeps getting in the way.

So please don't take me wrong.

But I really can't stay long,

I believe it's time I excuse myself from this elephant in the room.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

LittleWrenWrites

aka. Adele Pena

Short Stories, Poetry, & Prose.

Author's Bio & Other Social Site Links: https://mez.ink/littlewrenwrites

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.