Poets logo

Her Blood

Innocence Nevermore

By The Girl in GreyPublished 10 days ago 1 min read
1
4/25/24

Her blood is on my hands

Just a child, so pure & clean

Unaware of the insolence of man

Not knowing life is seldom what its seems

Young girl, who used to get so excited

Who felt something other than the numb

Passion & fire for a dream ever-ignited

Unwilful ignorance & heartache none

I'm sorry that I couldn't save you

How could it all have come to this?

You used to think God made you

And speak sweet words from your lips

Though orphaned & rejected

By whom was supposed to keep you safe

Though abused and neglected

By a woman who looked the other way

I know those wounds run deep

I know that they're still unhealed

I know the pain from which you bleed

I was there in that flower field

Yes, I know I have your blood on me

But, no one will hurt you anymore

I'll keep us safe, we're what we need

It won't ever be how it was before

Young girl, look how strong we've grown

I'll save us now, we're no longer alone

Love,

Chayle

slam poetrysad poetry
1

About the Creator

The Girl in Grey

Our life stories are our grandest publications.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran9 days ago

    This was so poignant and emotional. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.