Poets logo

La Rosita

For You

By The Girl in GreyPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
2
3/1/24

The seasons dance onto a new floor

The sun and the moon remain the same

In the familiar pattern the year before

With different leaves falling on a new name

Are you out there in the voices of the sky?

Did you make it to that unspeakable place?

Did you cross over and make it to the other side?

When it's my turn, will I ascend and see your face?

I don't ever want to forget those days

When we were all still here

Before there was a stone in which we lay

Before mortality became Everclear

I'm trying to keep the bottles away

And fill my cup with breath instead

All the prayers in the world and you couldn't stay

Holding your hand while we surrounded your bed

Please, let me know you're out there

Send me something to squeeze to my chest

Sick of hearing how life isn't fair

Always having to clean up a mess

I don't want to feel your memory slip

I want to remember that look in your eyes

The songs still hurt and my eyes still drip

The sweet, sticky pain of still being alive

I miss you

Love always,

Chayle

slam poetrysad poetryFamily
2

About the Creator

The Girl in Grey

Our life stories are our grandest publications.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test2 months ago

    Sad but beautifully written.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.