Poets logo

There's a Spell Above My Bed

An Ode to Lillian

By Richard J. PhillipsPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
There's a Spell Above My Bed
Photo by Alexandru Zdrobău on Unsplash

There is a spell above my bed tonight, a drowsy recollection of her love that wraps around my soul. A pinch of secret passion beats in rhythmic composition, as its added to the potion of memories past.

I can see her hair as wild as a spark of fire burning and consuming, my dreams filled with passion.

Taken up on wings of bats she flies into the cloak of night, across the moon that is her own. Eyes of green reflect in pools of magic, the creatures of the night paying homage to her name.

A lightning's flash ignites the magic of her love, as I cling to her tresses against twilight's backdrop. We ascend into our imagination and catch the last few drops of midnight's moon, her love taking me up into the starry night.

The magic dances in my mind's eye, she has captured my soul.

And, yet my soul has not been lost, but won, soaring through silver clouds, as she brings the cup to my lips. Dizziness dances before my thoughts and my breath is lost in her kiss.

An ancient spell born of sea and love, I do not resist its hold upon my heart.

Through mystic cauldron mist I fall into the dream of a spider's web, while caught in her embrace. My tears tease the silky strands of my imagination.

The black cat toys with my memory as I watch her eyes meet mine. Her hair cascading into pools of black and gold, lighting the night sky, as I melt into my pillow and my dream.

There is a spell above my bed tonight, and I do not care to break it. But, rather let it sit and sink within my heart so that it may never leave, and I will use its magic of the moon and of the night to love her just the same that she's loved me.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Richard J. Phillips

I have been a public relations executive, a screenwriter, a politician, a teacher, a restaurant owner and a consultant to NASA's human space program. Life is not supposed to be safe. It is meant to be lived. Make life extraordinary.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.