Poets logo

The Strength to let Go

Longing for Connection

By Written by Jonathan LeutholdPublished 14 days ago 1 min read
Giving and Pleading

In the depths of my longing, I stand, a broken vessel seeking solace, hoping for a miracle to bridge the gap between our souls. But there comes a moment of revelation, a glimmer of self-awareness that pierces through the haze of desire. For love cannot be forced, it cannot be coerced or tamed.

Yet, through it all, I wanted nothing more than to be cherished, to be held tightly in your heart, where I could find refuge from the storms that raged within me. I craved the tender touch of your affection, yearning for the day when you would fear losing the love we had nurtured.

But alas, reality unfurls like an open book, revealing pages stained with the truth of our entangled existence. No matter how much I poured into this love, it seemed to slip through my fingers like sand, leaving behind only remnants of what could have been.

And so, I stand here, knowing that the time has come to relinquish my grip on this fragile hope. For it is not in begging for love that we find fulfillment, but in embracing the strength to let go. To grieve the loss of what could have been, yet understand that the pain of holding on far outweighs the healing of release.

In the depth of my being, I find resilience, a flicker of light that illuminates the path ahead. I know now that love cannot be coerced or won through desperation. But within me lies the power to forge a brighter future, one where I am at the center of my own affection.

So let this be the closing chapter, the final verse of a tale that was never meant to be. And as I bid farewell to the longing, the yearning that once consumed me, I step forward into a world that holds infinite promise. With a heart that is whole and steadfast, I embark on a journey to rediscover my own worth, knowing that I am deserving of a love that chooses me, just as I have chosen myself.

Mental Healthlove poems

About the Creator

Written by Jonathan Leuthold

Writing has been my passion for years, and I’m beyond thrilled to be here! I adore writing, horses, dogs, and travel. I hope you enjoy what you read, and I can’t wait to see your amazing creations!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Written by Jonathan LeutholdWritten by Written by Jonathan Leuthold

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.