Poets logo

There is a Poem in a Sunflower

While traipsing on the dunes by the beach, sea air leaving salty kisses on my skin, I saw a sunflower growing straight out of the sand

By R.C. TaylorPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
6
There is a Poem in a Sunflower
Photo by fotografierende on Unsplash

While traipsing on the dunes

by the beach, sea air leaving

salty kisses on my skin,

I saw a sunflower

growing straight out of the sand.

Intrigued that it could grow

in such seemingly adverse

conditions, I picked it

and brought it inside

to gift it with precious water

And the glass embrace of a vase.

But I laid it on the couch

and forgot about it

in the blur of my day

and it promptly

shriveled and died,

Its dehydrated corpse

Protectively curled in on itself

The first thing that I saw when

I opened my sleep-ridden eyes

And only then did my pupils bloom

In belated remembrance and regret.

And I know there is a poem in there somewhere

But for the life of me I can’t find it.

nature poetry
6

About the Creator

R.C. Taylor

Part-time daydreamer. Full-time dork.

Follow along for stories about a little bit of everything (i.e. adventure, nostalgia, and other affairs of the heart, and anything else I want to honor and hold space for).

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Oh wow. Love this.

  • My Name Is Not Cypressabout a year ago

    I love this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.