Poets logo

Then and Now

I'm Just a Grateful Man

By Mitch LunsfordPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Then and Now
Photo by Shelby Deeter on Unsplash

Sometimes I sit here thinking

About where life had lead me.

Although, I can visually see it all

At times it's still hard to believe.

I look back on the path I started

And now I'm on a different road.

Where I started lead me nowhere.

But this new road leads me home.

Where I started was the man

That I never wanted to be.

Where I ended is so much greater

Then I thought I'd ever see.

Before I was so bitter.

No joy was in my life.

But now I am a changed man.

My life is going right.

See one day I had knelt down

On my bended knee.

I said, "God, I’m begging, help me.

Please come rescue me."

I would pray both day and night.

I'd pray that day would come

That my soul would find its piece

That this downward spiral was done.

Then one fateful day

My prayers finally came to be.

When God sent me a gift from heaven.

He sent down an angel just for me.

So, now with every day

I thank God for my new life

He granted me my prayers

When he sent my future wife.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Mitch Lunsford

I'm just a simple man, from a simple town, just trying to put my creativity out there for people to see. I'm a 32 year old, single father of 3 really cool boys. They are my biggest inspiration for everything that I do.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.