Poets logo

Theater

All masks must come off @ some point

By savage writerPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Somebody, somewhere

Somewhere, somebody

Oh, wait just a second

Unleash the drainage, make

sure our swamp is emptied

Fill in the blanks, man

There better not be any

empty seats in this auditorium

This word I recite, no

Recite this word, no

Recite, recite, recite

No, no, no

Start the poem all over

Wait

I just got finished penning

another anthology

Ain’t no reason for me

to sleep on prose, wait for 2023

You’ll get that soon enough

A few sequels in the pipeline,

aspiring to outsell everyone

Including Shakespeare

Not only that, but

Come up with a tricky way to perfect a

rhythm no one in history has heard before

Suffrage in the work that I create

My abilities will bring life

to a desolate environment

I could turn the crack houses into condos

Bodegas into shopping malls

like the one in the Meadowlands

PCP filled fields into grand stadiums

Rundown dancehalls into

state-of-the-art performing centers

Crumbling institutions

into prestigious universities

Yes I could, yes I could, yes I could

Ohhhhh yesssss

I could

I can

And…

I will!

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

savage writer

http://bit.ly/TRPY

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.