Poets logo

The Way You Tell...

A Poem

By No IntroductionPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
3

The long hours pass not soon enough; your thoughts moving faster. A lipstick stain across a wine filled glass shows only inch of the stress, which is waning. The love is waning.

Over several night more the dynamic is changing. The power to let go becomes increasingly so. A soul that’s not sincere cannot shift and make changes - although strong - it cannot take away. You become the one with all the power.

It is every night that the wrong makes appearance, making sure never to let the warm sunshine cast a strong light on the wrongs of the night. You cannot love the right way when the room is filled with cold air and woman who loves you is not there. The light has all the power.

The sunlight dancing through a bright blue sky cast away any sight that might make both the world and the girl grey. I can see you during this but you are not here. You are there. You are always there with her. I wish this blue sky of yours could cast over my grey sky, but it’s cast in a truth made entirely of your lies.

I continue night after night to remember your touch. What I feel are kind, strong hands might make someone else feel as comfortable as I... I wish this was different and didn’t happen at night. I wish it didn’t happen at all.

The beginning of love works like a bright summer day. The power of the sunlight overwhelms and is comfortable. The truth of the love is shown in the spotlight of the sun. We are the only one’s in the spotlight of the sun, and I love you.

Sometimes for months and some times are the years that pass by with a strong love that leaves little room for fear. Fear of these nights where the lover is gone and the lingering feeling of doom makes us numb... There used to be sunlight to break down all the dark the night brought, and the thought of my wonder would come down to my trust, and I did trust them.

Now we mark the eye of the storm for which our love seems to weather. I embark on a journey of should I? Is it over? I’m here every night in the eye of the storm and they are there with their new lover feeling that bright sunny and warm summer day like the beginning of our love. Does she love you? Maybe.

Now is my new summer day. I saw a man with a glance and the glance seemed to dance my direction. A smile ignites and his eyes are on me. My grey sky starts to break with a small light blue patch of sun, and the direction that my heart starts to move is to nervous from the numb. I still sleep alone at night.

We talked for some time next time we saw each other and through that conversation the thought of my lover never crossed my mind. The thought of him crossing me never crossed my mind. My new warm summer day has changed the forecast from these usually grey sky’s to a blue like summers last. The last time I was happy with him.

I noticed the stain of my lipstick again, except this time the stain outlines a smile, not the stain on a glass of wine with grief stricken nerves. I am out enjoying this warm summer sky with a man who shares his warmth. I cover my left ring finger as best as I can; a tan outline the skin the wedding ring band covered for years. He is still out there. I’m am just now here.

Distance that creates a gap in the heart makes the long wasted years of love seem to blur. A new love, an exciting love, can be true is the start is as true as the feelings that come with them. Though the lies created a storm and the storm isn’t over there’s a chance now both myself and older lover will not cross this love out with anger, but know it is over for good.

Yet, he asks how I am now? How do I feel? Do I believe the love felt through the warm sunny days are real? These questions are unfair. How could you step out all the long lonely nights and still ask if this way I feel seems to feel right? I got the attention I needed, though it wasn’t from you. And you dare ask if the warm I feel on my warm sunny days is really true?

The storm has now passed and the past is now gone. The long I felt once, not even as strong as it was, will never mend and become what it once was. Too many long lonely nights with tear drop stained clothing and lipstick stained wine glasses were passed to ever reconcile this dark once lonely past.

You dare ask if I’m happy now with this new wedding band on my finger. Asking if I still love or if the feelings still linger, and if this is really the end. That’s a lot of questions I wish not to answer old friend.

No longer lovers, nor friends, nor storming weather presides over my now sunlit constant that was once cold rainy sky’s. You let your gaze linger on a face unfamiliar, but beautiful. You lent your nights to her away from our once cozy bed. You gave up a love - if you had any at - to a stranger. I used to love you, but no I do not.

The way you tell us you love us must differ in meaning and could provide a dark stormy sky if it’s fake love that starts seeming to be the case. I am stuck in love, very much in love and happy, because now my days seem like the sunlight is dancing over him and I. I do not love you. but I do love you my new sunshine filled sky.

I do love you.

love poems
3

About the Creator

No Introduction

Small content creator discussing abuse and mental health in my NoIntro Podcast. Love yourself and allow yourself to believe in change. You are loved, you are worthy, and you deserve this life you've been given.

♥️🧡💛💚💙💜🖤🤎🤍

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.