Poets logo

The Way You Linger

I can't shake you from my mind

By Simon GeorgePublished 9 months ago 2 min read
5
The Way You Linger
Photo by Tamara Bellis on Unsplash

I lie here in my bed dreaming of you. Your shadow lying next to me, haunting me, questioning my sanity...

Was it even real?

I’m left feeling lost and confused. Unsure of what to do without you. You’ve claimed a permanent space in my mind. I can’t help but think of you. The question remains rattling inside of my brain. Was it as real for you as it was for me?

Do you think of me like I think of you?

I can still smell your scent on my pillow. It soothes me and cuts me. The memory of your touch lingers so closely I can feel it on the hairs of my skin. I roll onto my side to see your face fade before me. Glimpses of your naked body cover every room with a haze as I enter, but it’s your smile that hurts the most.

I can still picture it vividly.

The memory is fresh enough for me to cherish, but what of the day it perishes? I want to linger in this moment to treasure our connection until completely severed. While I can feel the frays of the force that binds us, I’ll hold on to the hope that it’s not yet lost. That you can find your way back to me. It’s this blind hope that will hurt me the most. Long after, you’ve forgotten me.

I can’t help but fight to keep a tiny piece of you with me. After all, you meant so much to me. You’re all I see when I close my eyes. Your brown eyes gazing back at me. The moments we shared will forever bind us.

The universe felt our energy. It sparked life in another galaxy of that, I’m sure. Like I’m sure that you’re thinking of me in some way, some form. I don’t know what keeps you from me, but I know what we had was real. I saw it in your eyes, heard it in your laugh and felt it on your lips.

If only for a while you were mine and I yours. No one can ever take that from me, so I’m grateful for you. I don’t know if I was meant to love you, but I know that I miss you.

_____________________________

*All of my poetry is written from experience and feeling, so if you like this poem, please let me know, and I'll continue baring my soul on the internet.

Thank you

_____________________________

© Simon George 2023. All Rights Reserved.

heartbreaklove poems
5

About the Creator

Simon George

I write poetry, fiction, and non-fiction. In 2021, I published my debut book "The Truth Behind The Smile" a self-help guide for your mental health based on my personal experience with depression. Go check it out.

IG: @AuthorSimonGeorge

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran9 months ago

    This was so emotional and relatable as well! I loved it!

  • Ghosts from the past, incessantly wondering, "what if". Keep baring your soul, Simon. I'm with you in deep resonance.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.