Poets logo

The Wave Summoner

An anecdotal event

By Gabrielle NeavinPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Wave Summoner
Photo by Simon Rae on Unsplash

I glide, arms outstretched

no board, all boogie

I've attuned to the rhythm of the waves

What is chaos for most

becomes the way to freedom

for those

who become fluid

in the wake of the white caps -

Flat like driftwood

I float

buoyancy is my new nature -

I'm tossed, but not shaken

As the waves crash into my being

I sink in and let go

Smiling, I exhale with intention

There is no resistance in

the collision -

and the saltiness

of the infinite unknown

is an acquired taste

that I've come to crave

I stand in shallow water

reaching my hands toward the sky

inhaling the cleansing air

The Gulf becomes my playground

Calamity, my decorated periphery

The storms that stir within me

manifest outwardly

as the sea begins its swells once more

A small Hispanic boy

about the age of 9 observes

my dance

he infers my intentions as I

meld with nature

and smiles curiously

as I catch the surf to carry me

to the shallow slope of the beach

with a tinge of shyness

he questions vocally,

"Excuse me! Hi, are you the summoner of the waves in the sea?"

12022280 [g]

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Gabrielle Neavin

To Shine Your Bright Light is the Sacrifice and the Gift.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.