Poets logo

Hue & Me - a colorful self-portrait

original poetry by [g]

By Gabrielle NeavinPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Hue & Me - a colorful self-portrait
Photo by Harry Quan on Unsplash

My eyes are blueish-green

depending

on what I'm wearing and how I feel

that day about assigning meaning to

objectively meaningful things.

My hair is wild and brown like the trees

with tones of a sunkissed breeze

and traces of silver threads that weave

wisdom from the pain that no one ever sees.

I Am

Black, like night

Visions

turn white in light of the fabric of my mind.

Red, like passion because my Love is

enraptured and freed

by the violet hues in you

that are felt and seen in me.

Green, like fresh spring

as new growth leans

into the next

of eternal seasons.

Yellow, like the rays of dawn

I'm perpetually gleaning from

and leaning on.

Pink, like femininity

and topography of my most

sacred parts of flesh

for as long as I am granted being,

and entrusted to this body.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Gabrielle Neavin

To Shine Your Bright Light is the Sacrifice and the Gift.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.