Poets logo

The Warrior in Me

Phoenix Rising

By Julie StullPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
3

The wind knocked out of me.

Blinded by the enemy.

My heart racing I could not breathe.

Nothing made sense to me.

My world torn apart and upside in seconds.

Confused I ran and could not stop.

I felt my heart would explode but I ran and kept going.

I forced myself to rest.

Was this all a test?

I had to purge I had to cleanse.

I poured water from the top of my head to my feet.

My mind wondering and my soul broken my heart pounding against my chest.

Again I asked myself, was this all a test?

I felt so alone, so betrayed.

I fell to my knees to pray.

I sobbed until I could not breathe.

I screamed to the universe asking for help.

I heard silence.

Again I began to cry and wonder why I was left alone in this agony.

Moments later I felt a hand on me. Seconds later, many before me.

They had arrived in the nick of time.

"We saw my child and you are being held by the divine".

"We are here you are not alone my dear".

I sobbed again for they arrived to rescue me.

I surrendered, I gave in and they held me again and again.

I did not ask for my future, I did not know where to go.

I asked for guidance and direction. I asked for strength and courage.

The day turned into darkness. How could this be?

Was I truly here on me knees for hours upon hours until they heard me?

Suddenly I heard what sounded like trumpets. I could hear a thunderous roar from the heavens.

Alone in the darkness I found strength. The courage to get up again.

Finally, I stood up tall and strong. My strength restored, my faith turned on.

As I opened my eyes I could see the tears falling to the ground.

I wiped my tears and began to breathe deeply again.

The night was no longer dark for a light came down upon my head.

It glistened over and over again.

I looked at my arms and saw the armor being put on.

My chest covered with more armor and now my legs.

How could this be?

"We have restored your faith and how we protect you with our grace".

"Go now and fight your battles for you are stronger than you know".

Was this my hour?

Could I finally shine with the protection and guidance from the devine?

I felt like a phoenix rising from the ashes.

My hope and faith restored. Strength came knocking at my door.

I am a warrior now. I protect the innocent somehow.

Why me? I began to ask. Why have I been chosen for this task?

"You are our warrior my child and you will see very soon indeed".

The words played again and again in my head. How could this be?

Just as I began to doubt a voice called from the clouds.

"My beloved, we see your strength and your devotion.

We have many tasks ahead and you have been chosen".

Courage came over me and I just smiled.

I am a warrior and I will keep going, never slowing down.

I dance now and rejoice with the universe.

I am the light for I am the warrior ready to fight.

I am shining so bright that even the devil has to hide from me.

Never surrendered and never give up.

The universe has filled my cup.

It overflows with love and healing.

Abundance that I have never seen before encompasses me now forever more.

inspirationalheroes and villains
3

About the Creator

Julie Stull

Writing is how we express ourselves. For me, it is a way of life. When we write, not only can we transport ourselves into another time but our reader gets to enjoy a glimpse of another place even if it is just for a moment.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    This was such a powerful poem! Very uplifting and beautifully written!

  • David M. Stull8 months ago

    Would love to hear this on a song that you could make. That would emphasis and present the emotion and pictorial relevance of your writing and would make a better connection with your audience because of the topic and imagery you show by using words. In the same concept that if someone has a good book a lot of people would want to vote to turn the book into a movie to emphasis all the detailed words used and bring it to life. And in this case a song would be a great way to paint the picture for your audience as they read this!

  • Jamie8 months ago

    Beautiful

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.