Poets logo

The Trees Do Not Clutch

for Demeter

By Sophie ColettePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in Get Comfortable Challenge
3
The Trees Do Not Clutch
Photo by Johannes Plenio on Unsplash

i.

Everything I know about comfort

was gained in the starry waters of my mother.

Nothing will be this way ever again,

a weight that almost bitters

honey on the spoon,

fleece of a newborn animal,

the smell and sound

of hard rain in the summer.

My deepest wish is to gather

these things together in some

cosmic basket. Keep them bound

in the finest spider-silk and safe,

a talisman for the wanderer, who arrives starving,

never having been able to remember

the stars, the water,

the oatmeal soaked in silence overnight,

to be eaten with apples in the morning.

ii.

I go to my sister’s new apartment

for the first time one February.

It’s dark when I finally arrive at her door.

She’s making lamb stew, this

other prodigal daughter;

hands me a glass of merlot, tells me

it’ll be fifteen or so, but come sit and tell her:

how am I doing?

The grief of every blow:

it lightens. Just enough.

It’s lighter, after all,

to be known.

iii.

The trees do not clutch

at the last of their finery.

This has taught me,

season after shifting season,

to release what is dead, or

no longer

mine to hold

with grace, or at least –

with less and less screaming

or bargaining, or otherwise carrying on,

as my mother would say.

This loosening of the grip,

this unclenching of the jaw, this drop

of my battle-tensed arms:

these (and, of course

my mother)

have taught me

to walk up to the mouth of winter,

wearing nothing but peace,

and say: yes. I understand

it’s time.

We will stay as warm

as we can. We will listen

for the run of honey,

for the stirring of the earth.

surreal poetrynature poetry
3

About the Creator

Sophie Colette

She/her. Queer witchy tanguera writing about the loves of my life, old and new. Obsessed with functional analytic psychotherapy & art in service to revolution. Occasionally writing under the name Joanna Byrne.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Huzain lolu Rabiuabout a year ago

    It was somehow great

  • Loryne Andawey2 years ago

    You paint with words in a way I haven't seen in a long time. Thank you for sharing this.

  • Rachel M.J2 years ago

    Gorgeous, this line gave me chills "It’s lighter, after all, to be known."

  • Caroline Jane2 years ago

    Wise words. Great poem. ❤️

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Very nice. Congrats

  • Chris Williams 2 years ago

    Amazing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.