Poets logo

For Moriah On Her Wedding Day

Unsent

By Sophie ColettePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
For Moriah On Her Wedding Day
Photo by Nataliya Smirnova on Unsplash

May we teach our young how to worship

at the altar of storms, Mama patron saint of strange.

May we decry

the false love of men, the love of false gods.

May we lope easy and free

down the streets of the love of our youth,

fearless and whole,

your long ringed fingers tapping my hip at twilight.

Do you remember

our new tenderness

in the friend’s apartment we were watching for the weekend?

We both smelled like cigarettes and shea butter for two days,

the Michigan snow flying up against the big windows,

eighteen years old and feeling like we were only just now

being born,

into storms and into love.

My wicked girl, it’s your wedding day, and this is not appropriate. But in the interest of transparency, I will tell you here, and just never send the letter:

All of my winters still belong to you.

I’m writing this in the middle of the night, while in the next room my lover sleeps

undisturbed by history.

When the phone rings, sometimes I think it will be your voice that greets me. It’s true

That this is selfish, and I know better than most that you are your own. At the very least, then:

I hope that this beloved knows how to keep you warm in the heart of winter.

I hope he knows

that he cries out his pleasure to God herself amen.

I hope he feels the perfect weight of you in his hands and suddenly feels the urge to pray, or cry.

I hope he holds your lightning and all the breath gets struck

right out of him. You are

magnificent- god! miraculous, wild you,

your plumes and your teeth,

your tears and your tales-

Fearsome; whole.

I swear to you I won’t forget

What either of us are.

I will hold the memory of the two girls in Michigan,

the snow, the holy truth of you

on my tongue, the way we never shut our eyes.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Sophie Colette

She/her. Queer witchy tanguera writing about the loves of my life, old and new. Obsessed with functional analytic psychotherapy & art in service to revolution. Occasionally writing under the name Joanna Byrne.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.