Poets logo

The Titaness

I'm not your smooth fantasy; I'm a fierce, fierce reality

By A Lady with a PenPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
3
Smooth is meant to be seductive, sensual, desired, But for me, it's just another way to make me feel tired.

Yo, they be calling me smooth, but I ain't no silk swathe,

I'm the titaness who bore life and walked the thorny path.

My body ain't no velvet, it's a testament of strength,

Every crease, every dip — a victory at length.

They see my thighs, say it's smooth, but they don't see the fight,

The cellulite battles, in the gym, night after night.

I ain't no marble sculpture, my skin's got its own tales,

Of sweat, tears, and triumphs, not some fantasies for males.

My stomach, they say smooth, but it's a cradle of creation,

Carried life within me, ain't no simple decoration.

I'm the epitome of perseverance, of a warrior's grit,

Ain't no smooth description gonna capture every bit.

So next time you call me smooth, better think again,

'Cause I'm a living testament of struggles, joy, and pain.

I'm not your smooth fantasy, I'm a fierce, fierce reality,

Strength and perseverance, that's my actuality.

************

The use of the word "smooth" to describe a woman's body has been ingrained in society as a way to compliment and objectify. But for many women, like myself, it is not a compliment at all. It reduces us to mere physical appearance and disregards all the hard work and struggles we have faced.

social commentaryslam poetryinspirationalhumor
3

About the Creator

A Lady with a Pen

Caroline Robertson's, books are beloved by both adults and children alike for their illustrations and engaging stories. She takes readers on an adventure, giving them the opportunity to explore different cultures, settings, and characters.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    Well, we do live in a misogynistic world. So sad. Loved your poem!

  • Salman siddique6 months ago

    loved it

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.