Poets logo

THE TINY PIANO

ODE TO UNIQUENESS AND COLOR

By Novel AllenPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Tiny Wonder

This tiny brown piano

Is indicative of how I feel most days.

Not tiny in the sense of being unimportant.

But tiny in comparison to the universe.

Brown being just the color of the piano

Gently supported by a tiny harp.

I play a major role in life.

A miniscule atom of a person I am.

Yet my part in the web of life is crucial to the continuous

motion of the thread of this planet.

It is wondrous and immeasurable the cycle of the sun

Moon and stars.

The placement of planets and heavenly bodies.

The innumerable stars winking at us and smiling nightly.

I am unique because there is only one of me.

Imagine, of the thousands of little persons born every day

No two are alike

With Twins, Triplets et al come the closest comparison to

Being alike

I stand in amazement every day

In awe of this phenomenon.

We are a rainbow coalition of little atoms

In this immense world

A many colored spectrum of diverse beings

Co-existing.

Do you really want to know what makes me unique

I have Childhood Arcus Juvenilis now become Adult Arcus

But I am older now it is Senilis

Eye mutation

Acquired between childhood and adult transition

I experience Synesthesia

Seeing and feeling colors in music and words

When I look at this picture below I see many more colors

than the ordinary eye can naturally see

I looked into a lunar eclipse and saw

such beauty in the color symphony

It was an amazing experience asking everyone

"Do you not see the turquoise or pink or green among other

myriad of dancing shades of colors".

"What are you talking about", they said.

"Are you wearing rose-colored glasses".

No. I am unique

I see what you cannot see

It is divine.

So Tasty

Sometimes we are in harmony

Sometimes in war

Sometimes in neutrality.

Sometimes I want to hide away in a variegated box

Sometimes I want to emerge and shine forth.

So this is my ode to uniqueness

Do you all not feel that you too are unique

in your oneness.

Pictures courtesy of Efe Kurnaz and Wengang Zhai-Unspalsh

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Clouds come floating into my life, no longer to carry rain or usher storm, but to add color to my sunset sky. ~~ Rabindranath Tagore~~

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Novel AllenWritten by Novel Allen

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.