Poets logo

The Thread

Focus

By jaz valentinoPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

You are everything I crave;

What I believe will save me.

The things I yearn for depend on you.

I am in need of help from my friends,

Just to be with you.

But time is always running out,

And I find myself chasing you rather than

Enjoying the time I have with you.

One moment you’re there

Then you’re gone.

I can’t seem to sit still when you’re near.

My fingers tap vigorously

As my knee shakes nervously.

My mind goes elsewhere

And before I know it

You’ve gone and I can’t get you back.

A delicate,

Fleeting,

And ephemeral connection

That is only asking for my attention.

Can you linger a bit longer

So that I can shake off the mental loops

And reconnect with you once again?

I am trying

To be present with you,

To create with you,

To enjoy you while I have you.

Really I am.

But maybe you deserve to be free

So I’ll let go of this anxiety

And breath

Waiting patiently for you

To come back to me.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

jaz valentino

Artist.

Poet.

Reader of the sky.

Daughter of the Moon

Educated through travel + Connection with others.

My energy is my melody.

Aquarius Sun

Gemini Moon

Cancer Rising

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.