Poets logo

The Tale of One Self-Fulfilling Prophecy

A poem

By Willow Rakiah Creager Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Tale of One Self-Fulfilling Prophecy
Photo by Karim MANJRA on Unsplash

In the cold and dreary night

I saw a bright light

And like a lost moth, I fell for you.

It was a dream come true.

Too good to be true.

No! Can't think like that.

Don't you know

It can come true?

Knock on wood, I murmur half asleep

As fears of betrayal dig trenches in my mind

It must be true.

Don't think like that.

But me? Surely there's been a mistake.

I just want to hear your voice in my ear

So I can pretend you're with me here.

I feel so at home beside you.

I'm so lonely here without you.

It's coming true!

Please don't go...

Rewind and find the way to say

I mean no harm, it'll be okay!

As the bright light slips away

Leaving darkness in its place,

Is there anybody out there?...

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Willow Rakiah Creager

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.