Poets logo

The Sweetness of Farewell

Embracing the end

By Amber BristowPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
8
The Sweetness of Farewell
Photo by Susan Wilkinson on Unsplash

This moment is the last,

My senses now at their peak.

I'll take them in with every breath,

And hold onto them, lest they should leave.

First, I'll feel the warmth of the sun,

As it caresses my skin with its rays.

I'll close my eyes and let it seep in,

And savour it for my final phase.

Next, I'll breathe in the scents around,

The sweet fragrance of my favourite flower.

I'll let it fill my lungs and intoxicate,

For it will not last beyond this hour.

I'll listen to my loved ones words,

With attention and care, as my heart yearns.

Their parting wisdom, a treasure to hold,

A legacy of love, more precious than gold.

I'll taste the earths flavours without a care,

Savouring each bite with no despair,

For in this moment, all is right,

And worries fade like stars in the night.

And finally, I'll touch the world one last time,

With silk clothing and cotton bedding entwined.

I'll run my fingers through the softest weave,

A texture so comforting, I'd never want to leave.

sad poetrynature poetry
8

About the Creator

Amber Bristow

Regularly participating in writing challenges and #writerslift on Twitter

🤍 Twitter 🤍 Website

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • PWabout a year ago

    Seamlessly woven like an ouroboros cycling a moment in and out of renewal. From within the same vein which the comment before me stated: I say you indeed flash-froze something tragically beautiful.

  • Jessabout a year ago

    Much of the beauty of life lies in its' simplicities—amazing how you've captured that here!

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    Stunning, Amber!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.