Poets logo

The Sun is a Part-Time Lover

Not quite a love letter to summertime.

By R. S. GonzalezPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
The Sun is a Part-Time Lover
Photo by Anna Sullivan on Unsplash

I do not regard you as a lover

but you stroke my eyelids like one lulling

me to sleep. I float under your cover

with a pool at my back, cool waves dulling

heat that grasps one thigh, and kisses along

my collarbone. Florida climate keeps

you bold, and July’s aquamarine song

hums in ripples around you. While it seeps

languid and hot into my skin, know I

like you once a year and no other time—

drunk at 11AM with all my

sense leaving as the temperature climbs.

Will you stay long enough to even out

my tan lines? Brevity’s what summer’s about.

love poems
1

About the Creator

R. S. Gonzalez

23-year-old graduate student who has a lot to say about storytelling and the power of literature. Loves character-driven narratives, LGBTQ+ romance, and stories about myths and monsters.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.