Poets logo

The Struggle is Real

As it is defined

By Colleen Millsteed Published 9 months ago 1 min read
7
Image courtesy of Pixabay

The crippling pain when I remember your name,

The ache that drowns in my chest,

The tears that surround my broken soul,

The dread laying heavily upon my breast.

💔

The difficulty swallowing back my sobs,

As I remember a time that’s now lost,

A happy time, one promising it’s forever,

Back before the lines were crossed.

💔

I weep through the golden memories,

Times precious but of a forgotten past,

A sorrow of epic proportions,

Times now forever passed.

💔

The physicality of emotional pain a shock,

The breath expelled without relief,

The hollowness of the devastating loss,

Agonising beyond belief.

💔

A searching solution across the expanse,

One heart’s whisper to another,

A born wander of possibilities,

Hope is the definition of the other.

💔

Do you hurt at the unexpected outcome?

Do you wander the same halls of despair,

Feeling nothing can change, nothing get better?

Living the moment realising you’re not there.

💔

The struggle is real, the struggle is defined,

Emptiness the new norm,

The wedge of raw emotion,

The precipitation from the storm.

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Originally published on Medium

heartbreaksad poetry
7

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    This is heartbreaking. Well done, my friend.

  • This was extremely relatable my friend. That emptiness, the difficult swallowing back sobs, just everything. Well done!

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    Stunning work Colleen! I hope and pray that things improve 4 you!

  • Alex H Mittelman 9 months ago

    A sad poem that’s very well written! Nice work, beautifully done!

  • Diane Mary Markey9 months ago

    Colleen, the pain so real, so raw. Again a poem from the heart, thank you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.