Poets logo

The Stoic's Waltz

A Song of Self-kinship

By Wordhammer Published 2 years ago 1 min read

No matter what, no matter whom, I say

I am, I have, myself in my own power.

I am content, whatever comes my way.

Never surrender whatever the sway:

What dark star, what dark fate, what dark tower,

No matter what, no matter whom, I say.

Should sunbeams enfold me, should skies turn to gray,

Should gods smile, should gods sneer, should gods glower,

I am content, whatever comes my way.

Should tyrants entice me, tempt my pain away,

I will not bow, and I will not cower,

No matter what, no matter whom, I say.

Whatever comes crouching at each break of day -

what rough beast, what dread hand, what fatal hour -

I am content, whatever comes my way.

Rise as I go, though I grow weed or flower,

Dance though I, dirge-like, in that shadowed bower,

No matter what, no matter whom, I say

I am content, whatever comes my way.

inspirational

About the Creator

Wordhammer

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Smallbrook2 years ago

    I like the imagery and it has a nice meter to it when I read it aloud in my head.

WWritten by Wordhammer

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.