Poets logo

The Spaceman’s Question

The Birth of a Child

By Gerald HolmesPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 2 min read
16
Chris de Burgh A Spaceman came Travelling

A spaceman came travelling

From a far away star

To ask me one question

To show him who we are

He said we were heading

To a place he’d been before

And the day to end days

Was knocking at our door

**

I could see the concern

In his large almond eyes

As he asked me for a reason

He should help us survive

He said to show him one thing

That would help change his mind

One thing to give hope

For the future of mankind

**

The doctors spoke softly

As they circled my bed

While this traveller from afar

Showed pictures in my head

These pictures showed a future

Of pain and despair

As I searched for the answer

To his question with fear

**

The love of my family

Entered my ear

As they stood all around me

Weeping in prayer

The answer to his question

Eluded my mind

And I knew in my heart

I was running out of time

**

I couldn’t see the answer

No matter how hard I tried

Until I heard from far away

A baby’s first cry!

I saw his grey skin as he

Turned quickly to the sound

And knew at that moment

The answer I’d found

**

In a flash we were there

Standing at her bed

As a new mother cried while

Kissing her baby’s head

I felt something change

As he stared at the child

Unconditional love overtook him

As tears filled his eyes

**

He slowly turned towards me

While his whole body smiled

And said in his 1000 years of life

It was the first time he cried

Pointing to the window

To his ship far above

He said he’d be back to help us

As this child had showed him love

**

A bright light shun down

From his ship from afar

As he slowly disappeared

And .............................

It hung in the sky like a star

**

Just like a star!

inspirational
16

About the Creator

Gerald Holmes

Born on the east coast of Canada. Travelled the world for my job and discovered that kindness is the most attractive feature in any human.

R.I.P. Tom Brad. Please click here to be moved by his stories.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)6 months ago

    This was such a great entry for that challenge! I love your creativity! Great work Gerald!

  • Donna Renee8 months ago

    What a beautiful moment to choose to share with the visitor! ❤️❤️. That rush of emotion would definitely bring on even the most stubborn of tears!! ❤️

  • Tiffany Gordon 8 months ago

    Beautiful work Gerald! I loved it!

  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    Awww and I thought babies were kinda useless 😁

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Love this, Gerald!!! Brilliantly written!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Awww, he cried! This was so touching and wonderful!

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    Very good, Gerald. The flow and pacing were effortless. The story was pleasant and rewarding. Loved everything about it! 💖

  • Beautiful mixture of faith, scripture, science fiction & the power of love in both poem & song. Well done.

  • Rachel Deeming8 months ago

    Ah, lovely. So lovely. Made me feel all warm.

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    Wow. This is wonderful. Great job, bro.

  • Heather Hubler8 months ago

    Aww, I knew you'd pull at my heart strings somehow. The miracle of birth, what a beautiful thing to witness. I loved this, Gerald!

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    There ya go! Show him a miracle. This was so well written, Gerald! Well done!

  • Rob Angeli8 months ago

    Good way to win him over! Great use of your rhyme, flows smoothly. Less silly than heartwarming. Nice work!

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    lovely

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.