Poets logo

You Ease my Trouble’s

That’s what you do

By Gerald HolmesPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
21
Photo by Author

Have I told you lately

That you are my constant

And what you mean to me

Or how the harmonics

from your inner core

Set my soul free?

**

Or how the feel of

Your soft mahogany

Skin

Can be the balm

To ease my trouble’s

And calm the pain within

**

How your sensual curves

Hold my weary arms

Close and true

As gently my fingers

On your ebony neck

Brings sweet music from you

**

I can’t count how many

Times in my life

You’ve rescued me

Brought me back

From life’s abyss

And released me

**

You’re the one that holds

The memories of my life

Within you

The one that holds

My course along this journey

Straight and true

**

So this ode I write for you

To tell the whole world

Just who you are

These words of love

Are just for you

My guitar.

performance poetry
21

About the Creator

Gerald Holmes

Born on the east coast of Canada. Travelled the world for my job and discovered that kindness is the most attractive feature in any human.

R.I.P. Tom Brad. Please click here to be moved by his stories.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Awesome ode to your guitar!!! Fantasticly written!!! Loved it!!! If you have a moment, check out my latest Limerick, TEEN SPIRIT!!! On a side note, today was the day the album Nevermind was released.

  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    Damn I really thought this was for a person! 😁 You should totally marry your guitar (just don't bring it out at parties 😜 )

  • I sooo did not see that last line coming 😁☺️ beautiful. I really loved the way you presented this, unique and clever

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    Lovely

  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    Love how you state the ode's object only at the end. Really lovely poem.

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    Terrific job Gerald! 👏😊 This poem is very original and poignant! Music is such a powerful thing and you’ve incorporated this spirit into the object! A Very clever ode.

  • Hannah Moore9 months ago

    The photo captured my attention...but the poem kept it. Nice.

  • 🫶🏾Great job-📝💯🤩😎✍️🎊🎶🎼🎸

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    Oh what a great ode, I miss my guitar 😳

  • The Dani Writer9 months ago

    Honest to goodness...made me smile. Great poem here Gerald!

  • ThatWriterWoman9 months ago

    Beautiful! A wonderful love poem for your guitar! Well Done!

  • As a fellow guitar player I felt every line of this, music is the medicine of the soul. Very well done

  • Nice words and great challenge entry

  • Whoaaa, your guitar played such an important role in your life! Such a wonderful ode!

  • I love reading this—a beautiful ode to a guitar.

  • A fine guitar, well-used, is a precious thing--not simply for the one using it but for all those around as well. (Your granddaughter, I'm assuming, looks as much in love with it as you do.)

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Dude. This is excellent! Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.