Poets logo

The Snowy Grave of Our Love

Poem 1.

By Simran SawantPublished 11 days ago 1 min read
The Snowy Grave of Our Love
Photo by Theo Bickel on Unsplash

I held his letters in my frozen palms,

Digging the snowy grave of our love wasn’t a good idea.

Turning the pages, I looked at the lies bleeding through the ink,

Oh, how the ice storms withered away all the roses we had grown!

Mountains of cold, cold cruelty disguised as honesty,

Avalanches of fights destroying bonfires of affection,

I was out of breath thanks to insincere propriety.

I ran away before the hailstorm could bury me under heaps of shame,

I ran away before my heart could become his favourite game,

I ran so I could avoid the blame,

For breaking his frigid heart.

I ran straight into the arms of my twin flame.

The acid from my eyes burnt a hole into my skin,

But not quite like the one, his words burned into my heart.

But the burning was the only warmth I felt in the longest time,

The glow I desired was finally mine.

The fire of my love grew tenfolds,

The power that he holds,

Over me, his touch turns me to ashes.

Now that I frolic in the garden of blooming roses,

I will never let the storms wither them away,

Now that this colossal fire is burning within me,

An old flame could never sway,

My love and my convictions.

But now and then I re-read the letters,

I wish I could remember if it was ever magic,

Digging the snowy grave of our love was a good idea,

To show me that it was nothing but tragic.

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreakFree Verse

About the Creator

Simran Sawant

I write about feelings.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Prathamesh Naik10 days ago

    Love your writing cant wait to read more from you 😍

  • It was absolutely brilliant! You painted the words in this beautiful poem. So I subscribed you to receive your future works like this 🥰!!!

  • Manisha Dhalani11 days ago

    Wow, a very finely written piece of poetry.

Simran SawantWritten by Simran Sawant

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.