Poets logo

The Snowflake Bizarre And More!

With nine or ten other craft fairs and vendor stands galore!

By Denise E LindquistPublished about a year ago 3 min read
3
The Snowflake Bizarre And More!
Photo by Clem Onojeghuo on Unsplash

It is opening hunting season and while the men hunt, the women will shop! I friend asked me to help when she sells Tupperware this weekend at the Snowflake Bizarre event at the YMCA stop.

There are nine or ten other places to shop this weekend, but I won’t be there. I will sit with my friend while she sells her wears, right here!

I went to no other stands and still, I managed to buy a housewarming gift, a Christmas gift, and a great grandsons birthday gift. He will be one year old soon. I was looking through Tupperware for a piece that would match the showpiece, so all I did was sift!

This morning it was raining, windy, and cold, so there was no hunting. I had no plans to go anywhere as I am under the weather. I thought maybe I would be doing more sorting.

All the mess I have from the retreat. It was a lovely time, but I haven’t put anything away just yet, not even one treat!

How could I shop, when I was supposed to be working? She said, “All I want you to do is collect the money!” I said that I would be glad to collect the money, honey!

I saw beautiful signs of all kinds. Homemade dishcloths, hats, sweatshirts, mittens, homemade fudge, soaps and so much more. Crafts and vendor stand galore!

I took a break to get something to drink and went to the restroom. I watched the stand for her, while she got lunch, and talked with her groom.

She says she is done now for a year soon. Can that be right, as we are planning a retreat in June?

Somehow it is hard to believe that so many of the women that attended the retreat this week are asking for a repeat!

The retreat is a trauma, grief, and loss event. Sometimes I think I would rather be hunting than crying or talking about it all, I do vent!

No deer this weekend at my household. Maybe next weekend I am told.

And I will have more opportunities to buy and finish my Christmas shopping. I am hoping to be moving around better, maybe even hopping!

I am just joking, I did see the cutest bunny rabbit canister set in the Tupperware though. I was thinking of a housewarming gift for the grandgirl you know.

Shopping last year was through Publishers Clearinghouse (PCH). It appeared to be mostly junk, but I did get a few things for my house.

There were other PCH gifts for my grandchildren and children. I didn’t wrap them as I wanted the gift to be something that someone wanted. There were even things for the great-grandchildren.

I left the gifts in a bin and one at a time I pulled one out and someone claimed it happily. Christmas will never be that easy again. I did get to the point of using bags for Christmas wrap way back when.

Is that lazy or just what you do when you have seven children, 26 grandchildren, and 9, soon to be 10 great-grandchildren in my family?

As the baby in my oldest son’s family, that is 18 now, and a senior in high school expected three gifts from the grandparents when she was small, and she probably still does. She wanted more than one gift just cause.

Now that I am reminded of all of this, I should have shopped more and finished my shopping early. As it is, I bought one Christmas gift, a housewarming gift, and a birthday gift. I did go to work, not shop.

I will shop more next year at the Snowflake Bizarre. I have lived here for ten years and it is only the second time I have attended so far.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

First published by Penny Press in Medium

buyers guidesocial commentary
3

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a year ago

    This was very creative and well executed rhymes! I loved this so much!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.